Workplace injuries in Vermont can be disorienting and devastating. Nobody expects to get hurt on the job whether they are in a dangerous industry like construction or trucking, or involved in white-collar work in an office setting. Yet serious work injuries can happen in any type of workplace, and it is essential to find out more about seeking workers’ compensation benefits. You may not realize it, but you will need to take action quickly in order to be eligible for workers’ compensation coverage. If you wait too long to report your injury or to begin the workers’ compensation claims process, you could limit your eligibility for compensation. Recognizing the importance of moving forward on your workers’ compensation case quickly, what steps do you need to take in order to seek workers’ compensation benefits in Vermont? The State of Vermont Department of Labor clarifies the requirements for injured workers under Vermont law.
Report the Workplace Injury
You must report your work injury to your employer as quickly as possible. If you delay reporting your injury, you make it harder to get workers’ compensation benefits. You must report your claim within six months, except for some situations where the employer clearly has notice of your workplace injury.
See a Doctor
After a workplace injury, it is essential to see a doctor and to receive the medical care you need. Your employer may require you to see an approved health care provider for your initial visit. At any medical visit following a workplace injury, you should make clear that you are there because you got hurt at work and describe clearly what happened. You are entitled to see any doctor of your choosing after the first appointment. Read the following blog to learn more: Can I Choose What Doctor I See For My Work-Related Injury In Vermont?
Wait for Your Employer to Report Your Injury to the Department of Labor
Next, you will need to wait for your employer to report your injury to its insurance company and the Department of Labor, which they must do within 72 hours of you reporting the injury. If your employer fails to report, you should do it.
Read the following blog to learn more: How Do I Know Whether My Employer Filed My Claim
Expect Contact from an Insurance Adjuster
The workers’ compensation insurer must begin investigating your claim, and you should expect to be contacted by an insurance adjuster. You will likely need to fill out more information and provide access to your medical records. Make sure you complete and return the Medical Authorization form sent to you by the insurer.
Receive Information About your Claim Within 21 Days
You should receive notice within 21 days from the date that you reported your injury to your employer about whether or not your workers’ compensation claim has been approved. If you haven’t heard anything, you will need to file something with the Vermont Department of Labor or call an attorney.
Appeal If Necessary
If you are denied benefits, you will need to appeal the denial of benefits by filing something with the VT Department of Labor. Our Vermont workers’ compensation lawyers can help.
Contact a Workers’ Compensation Attorney in Vermont
When you have been injured at work, it is helpful to talk with a Vermont workers’ compensation attorney about your case. One of the experienced advocates at our firm can talk with you today to learn more about your workplace injury and to assist you with all of your workers’ compensation needs. We know how essential it is for you to receive medical coverage and compensation for lost wages quickly, and we will do everything we can to help you obtain the benefits you need. Contact Larson & Gallivan Law online or call us at 802-327-8458 in Vermont.